Canada

New trip: Exploring Halifax


Wow! I can’t believe it has been a whole year since I last posted. Coincidently, it’s also been a whole year since I last travelled! You better believe that I was going crazy.

I landed today for the first time in Halifax, Nova Scotia and I’ve spent the last four hours wandering around the downtown core.

My first impressions are that there are a LOT of restaurants. It also seems like that is the main thing to do in Halifax, at least on a sunny, Saturday afternoon. Most of the pubs I passed by the water were packed.

I’m visiting for the next week, while I take a program at the University of King’s College. Hopefully, I’ll get some time to see some sights in my free time.

I did discover one useful tip today: The Citadel is free during the last half-hour of the day and you can actually get a nice tour in the half-hour if you’re just interested in seeing the structure and concentrating on a couple of rooms. If you visited in the last half-hour a couple of times, I think you could see the whole thing.

I also learned that the Maritime Museum of the Atlantic, which houses many of the artifacts recovered from The Titanic, is free from 5:30 to 8 p.m. on Tuesdays. So I’ll definitely be checking that out.

Leave a Reply

