Europe, Travel Tips

Tour Review: Busabout


20120622-200451.jpg

I thought I’d take some time to write up a review of the bus tour I took a few weeks ago.

This trip is the first big one I’ve taken by myself and so I thought it would be a good idea to start off with a tour. After, quite a lot of research, I decided on the Busabout tour that started in Prague and ended in Split, Croatia.

The tour lasted a total of nine days and we had the chance to visit Prague, Kutna Hora, Olomouc, Auschwitz, Krakow, Zakopane, Budapest, Plitvice Lakes and Split. All for a total of £565 (about $700).

Overall I think the tour was well-worth the money and I’m really happy I did it. This is mainly because I got the chance to do things that I would have been able to do on my own: drink in Stalin’s plane in the Czech Republic or ride in a Soviet tank in Slovakia.

Before I started the tour, I was really worried that I would go stir-crazy on a bus for nine days, but the bus was actually really nice. The front section had groups of four seats placed around a table, so we could play cards to pass the time. We took turns playing our iPods over the bus’ sound-system and it was kept nice and cold. The best part was that we never drove longer than two hours without stopping to stretch our legs or go for a pee break.

Our Australian tour guide also tried hard to take us to the restaurants and bars that the locals would visit so that we had a really good feel for the local cuisine.

The people on my tour were also really nice, most of them were Australian as well and many hand been travelling for a while already. Being able to hang out with the same people for a week is a real luxury while you’re travelling, I’ve come to discover.

Of course, there are always some downsides to joining a big tour: the main one is that you don’t really get enough time in any one place. This became really clear for me in Krakow, when I got food poisoning the first night and I missed out on the bike tour of the city, tour of a nearby salt mine and dinner in the old Jewish district the next day. Pretty much all I saw was the castle that was a few blocks away from my hostel. This means that I will definitely have to go back to Krakow.

If you are thinking of doing a bus tour, I would recommend you research the tour that is right for you. I chose Busabout because it was the cheapest I could find and also catered to the 18-29 age group. (There was one older couple who were nearing retirement age, but they worked hard to be sociable so it was fine.) I also liked that Busabout had a good selection of tours that catered only to Eastern Europe as I had already been to most of Western Europe on my own. After the tour, I think I got good value for my money, with breakfast and accommodation as well as several tours included in the price.

2 thoughts on “Tour Review: Busabout”

  1. hi, i was thinking to join the same tour as yours. how was the accommodation like? Because I also think this is the cheapest I could find but I worry about how the accommodations are. I hope your experience can help me. Thanks a lot!!

    1. Hey Lexy,
      Sorry for the delay in getting back to you. The accommodation was much better than I expected. We stayed in hostels/small hotels every night and there was never more than four people in a room. Many of the nights were only two in a room. If you travel with a friend, they will put you together, otherwise if you are alone, like I was, then they just rotate you around so you meet different people. All the beds were twin-sized, but rooms were clean and quiet. Hope that helps

Leave a Reply

