Czech Republic, Europe

Whirlwind European Adventure Day 1


Ok so I have some big news. I’m going to be heading back to Canada in about a month’s time. But first, I’m doing a massive trip around Europe to make sure I’m good and sick of this continent. I’m actually writing this from my hostel in Prague. I’ve been awake for about 34 hours or so, minus the hour (I think) I slept on the plane.

I’ve actually doing pretty well considering, but I’m looking forward to going to bed in a few hours. I’ve had quite an exciting day though. The big news is that I got to shoot a crossbow! I know… awesome.

So how did this happen? Well last time I came to Prague, I didn’t get a chance to visit the giant castle that sits on a cliff overlooking the city. I’m only here for a day this visit, so I decided that I would devote the whole day to the castle. To go around the castle there are a few options for tickets that you can choose. I went for the short loop, and told them that I was a student, so I only ended up paying 125 koruna, (about $6.50.) For that price I was able to walk through the Golden street, which is a street filled with houses preserved as they were in different periods of the last 500 years.

Above the preserved houses, they had a medieval knight display and a man with a booth that offers you the chance to shoot a cross-bow for 50 koruna ($3.) At first, I thought the offer was too expensive, but then I figured when else am I ever going to get the chance to shoot a cross-bow.

For those of you who are curious, there are two sights on the crossbow that you line up to your target. To shoot you place one elbow on the table or stand or tree for balance and hold the trigger arm at 90 degrees. I actually did pretty well. The man let me shoot four times and I hit 80 twice, 60 once and 40 once… not a bad score for a first time. (The centre is worth 100 and then each ring decreases by 20.) I have a picture of myself, but I won’t be able to put it up until I have my laptop.

The rest of the palace wasn’t particularly interesting, but it was nice to see the inside of such an old building. What is worthwhile, though, is the view from the castle. It makes you realise why people call Prague the most beautiful city in the world. Here is a photo I took on my iPhone:

It really is the most beautiful city on Earth
Tomorrow, I’m off to see the Sedlec Ossuary in Kutna Hora. This is something else I was supposed to see on my trip last year. I’m very excited for it. I’ll write you all an update from Kraków tomorrow night.
Leave a Reply

