England, Europe, Travel Tips

The importance of keeping e-copies


Just a quick post to tell you all that this morning I was reminded how important it is to keep electronic copies of all your travel documents.

A few weeks ago, I booked a bus tour of the Cotswold (in England) for April 15. This morning, I was putting it into my calendar and couldn’t remember what pick-up site I had specified. So I decided to call the company.

After telling the customer service rep my name several times, she told me that she had no record I ever made a booking. (That didn’t stop them from charging me £29 for the trip.)

Now, I have booked online many times and normally the tour company sends a confirmation to your e-mail… this one didn’t.

Thankfully, I remembered that I had printed off the ticket confirmation that had popped up on my screen when I booked.

So after 15 minutes of rummaging through my desk, I eventually found the print-out.

I called them back and read them my ticket number and the tour company confirmed that, actually, they did have a booking for me.

So everything is good now.

However, I would have saved myself a lot of grief if I had just done a Print to PDF of the ticket screen, and maybe even e-mailed it to myself.

Now, I’ve learned my lesson.

Leave a Reply

