England, Europe

Discovering the Saatchi Gallery, London


Yesterday morning, I was forced out of my house at 8 a.m. My landlord was replacing the water heater and the workers cut the heat and water in the house. Not a fun place to be. (On the plus side I now have the luxury of hot showers, which I haven’t had for about a month.)

First thing I realized when I started my adventure is that not much is open at 8 a.m. on Saturday, at least not on the east side of London. So I spent several hours just wandering around aimlessly. Eventually, I found myself at the Saatchi Gallery in Sloan Square, Chelsea (west London).

Front of the Saatchi Gallery

The gallery is located off the main square in the Duke of York’s HQ. It is a 3 to 4 minute walk from Sloan Square Tube Station and a 12 minutes from Victoria Station.

I am pleased to announce that it is my new favourite gallery. This is big news because I’m not normally the biggest fan of art, especially modern art. I am prepared to admit that I find the Tate modern boring! (The only thing I liked about it was the view from the restaurant at the top, though I hear you can only go now if you’re actually eating.) And don’t even get me started on the National Gallery…

But the Saatchi Gallery definitely gets the Thriftyabroad seal of approval as it meets my two most important qualifications:

A) You can see the whole thing in an hour. (This is about the maximum I can stand to spend in a museum or gallery.)

B) It’s completely free, including the special exhibitions. Even better, it is also free to become a member. Apparently it gives you access to preview events and members evenings. I signed up yesterday, so I’ll keep you posted.

Anyway, if you get the chance. Definitely go check it out for yourselves! Hopefully some of these pictures will inspire you:

1 thought on “Discovering the Saatchi Gallery, London”

Leave a Reply

