England, Europe

Up close and personal with a World Wonder


Stonehenge. One of the Great Wonders of the World. It has stood in some form on the same spot for about 4,000 years. Its circle of stones each weigh as much as 44 tones and it’s mind-boggling figuring out how they were transported to their site. It is also one of the items of my list of things to do before I turn 25. Well, yesterday I finally went and saw it.

This photo was taken at about 1:30 in the afternoon. If you decide to go visit it yourself, I would recommend going earlier in the day than I did, because there were a lot of people around. I didn’t have much choice on the time as I visited Stonehenge with a tour group. To be honest, going with a tour was actually pretty good as it meant I got to jump the line.

My tour bus left King’s Cross Station at 8:15 in the morning, which meant I had to wake up at 6:30 on a Sunday. Brutal! The tour was worth it, though.

We started the morning by visiting Windsor and seeing the front of the castle. I didn’t actually get to go inside because we didn’t have much time in the town, but I did see the lane where Queen Victoria would “get some air” every morning. The fog was actually so dense when we first got there that we could barely see.

But it cleared up a little later.

I wouldn’t recommend going to Windsor, unless you are going to go inside the castle. Because to be honest, I was only there two hours and I was bored.

After leaving Windsor, we drove an hour on the bus to Stonehenge. Admission to the site costs £7.50 for adults or £6.80 for students. You get an audio guide with the price of the ticket.

I definitely think that it is worth the money, (especially considering that sites like St. Paul’s Cathedral in London costs £12) and I felt I actually learned something from the audio guide. The guide does a good job of explaining the theories behind what researchers think each part of Stonehenge was used for, what the people who used it were like, its history, how it was built. It was very comprehensive.

My last stop of the day was Bath. I had heard from several people that Bath was absolutely beautiful, but I hadn’t realized how magnificent it was. The buildings are all gleaming white and the architecture of the cathedral reminds me of the style I saw in Prague (amazing!).

For those of you who don’t know, Bath got its name because it was the site of the Roman baths 2,000 years ago. The baths actually still exist today and I visited them on my trip. They were declared a UNESCO World Heritage site along with several of the buildings in the downtown core in the 1980s.

Inside the baths

This is a city I will definitely visit again. Next time, I plan to bring a picnic lunch with me to enjoy in one of the many parks that dot the city.

My last stop of the day was a quick tour of the Cathedral. At £2.50, I’m not sure if it was worth it, but I did get one good picture out of the deal.

The grand total cost for my day including the entrance to the Bath Cathedral and an ice cream cone was £53.20 (£39 for the tour £10 for entrance to the Roman Baths, £2.50 for the Cathedral and £1.70 for the ice cream). I probably could have done the journey a cheaper if I had planned it myself, but considering all the travelling was taken care of, I thought it was worth it.

Leave a Reply

