England, Europe, Expat

Thanksgiving in London


Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

I am proud to say that today I cooked my first-ever Thanksgiving dinner. I’m living with four English housemates and, of course, none of them have ever had a Thanksgiving dinner. So I felt it was my duty to cook one for them.

Trying to find a turkey in London, however, is an exercise in frustration. I heard from my housemates that everyone eats turkey at Christmas, but it’s pretty much non-existent the rest of the year. I must admit, that I only started looking this morning, but I went to three supermarkets and Harrod’s and everyone looked at me like I was crazy, when I asked for a whole turkey. I would have had more luck if I wanted pheasant or quail.

Eventually, I decided that my best option was to buy turkey breast for the taste, and a whole chicken for the appearance of a turkey dinner. I took a picture, so you can all let me know if it looks authentic.


I guess I can officially say I can cook

The chicken was already pre-seasoned, so I just popped it in the oven. The turkey, however, I seasoned myself. During a quick Skype call home, my mom informed me that the proper spices for poultry, can be found in the old Simon & Garfunkel song, Scarborough Fair: parsley, sage, rosemary and thyme.

I ended up using parsley, rosemary, thyme and onion, but it was just as good. In case any of you want to make yourself some turkey breast tomorrow, all you have to do is put them on a piece of aluminium foil, line the bottom with water, add your spices, then roll the foil over the top. One hour later, you have perfect turkey breast.

Of course, you can’t have turkey (or chicken) without stuffing, so I made that too. I mixed some pre-made stuffing with bread, red onions, almonds, apples and more of the same spices. It was delicious if I do say so myself.

Anyone else celebrate Thanksgiving outside of Canada this year?

1 thought on “Thanksgiving in London”

Leave a Reply

