Europe, Scotland

In a hostel in Edinburgh


So I decided earlier this week to make an impromptu trip to Edinburgh. I’m sitting in the lounge of a hostel, using a borrowed computer and watching a rugby match between Ireland and South Africa.

I forgot to that Edinburgh is a fair bit colder than London… and gets dark about two hours earlier… and has already started their rainy season. Basically it is disgusting outside. But I got a fair bit done today.

I caught the train from King’s Cross station at 7 a.m. this morning and arrived in Edinburgh about 11:45. My hostel was only a ten minute walk from the train station and it’s actually a very nice place. They have free wireless, free computers, free laptops and free breakfast. Honestly, it’s nicer than the place I’m staying at in London.

I mainly spent the rest of the day wandering around. I walked to the top of the castle and got the view. I visited several souvenir places and managed to find a scarf in the MacAulay clan tartan… so I bought it. I ate dinner at the Elephant Cafe… famous for being the place that J.K. Rowling wrote Harry Potter. (She would sit there for hours writing and did some of the first manuscript on their napkins.)… all in the pouring rain. Oh well.

I also managed to piss of a cab driver by trying to pay for a five pound cab ride with a 50…. they’re meaner here than London.

Leave a Reply

