England, Europe, Travel Tips

One week over


I’m terribly sorry for not posting throughout the last week. I’ve been getting caught up in the British propensity to head to the bar after work and have done it every evening. I know it’s terrible. It’s the standard thing to do out here though. The whole office picks up and moves to the bar at about 6:15 every evening, unless there’s breaking news going on.

In contrast though, the bars in London all close at 11 p.m. (Well most of them do.) So when people go out, they go out after work and then head home and get to bead by midnight. There actually was a law until 2003 that all bars had to close at 11 p.m., it’s been relaxed a bit, so some will stay open until 12 p.m. I found one last night that stayed open until 2 p.m. Anyways, the point of all this was I had a good reason for not writing.

I’m working at the CBC full-time during the day, so I haven’t had much time to see more of the city, but  do have some tips for walking around alone without looking like a tourist.  In my purse, I have two maps that are each the size of a regular piece of paper. One is of downtown London and has all the landmarks and bus routes on it and the other is a tube map. I also have my BlackBerry. When I get lost, I just do a GPS search of where I am and then I find the place on the map. (I typically try to move to a side street before taking out the map, so that I don’t attract too much attention). Once I find where I am, I continue on my way, keeping the GPS on my BlackBerry, for when I get lost again.

Leave a Reply

