Europe, Travel Tips

Planning for my European adventure


In October, I’ll be heading off to London, England for a six-week internship at the CBC bureau there. This will be the first time I’m traveling alone and the first big trip I’ve ever had to plan. So far, I haven’t really been thinking about it, but I was talking to a friend a few days ago and I realized that I leave in just over two months. I know a lot of things can take that long to process, so I’ve had this panicky feeling the last few days.

I’ve spent the last few hours reading blogs by other young travellers to get some advice. I’ve also been reading a Lonely Planet guide to planning The Big Trip over the last few days. Honestly, I’m overwhelmed.

There is so much to plan for! My first big dilemma is that I don’t know if I need a visa or not. I’m not technically working in England because I’m not getting paid, but I’m not sure if an internship would count as work. I also haven’t figured out my plans after my internship. I don’t have to go back at school for a month. I plan to travel Europe but I haven’t settled on what countries yet.

I have been to London before, but it’s been a while. I did go to Chile during reading week with my family this year and my parents had me do all the visa stuff by myself when I got there (in Spanish, no less) and I went to NYC with a good friend for my birthday, so I think I can figure out the getting off the plane stuff.

I think my main problem is that I don’t know what I don’t know. I’d love to hear some tips from people who have recently done a European adventure themselves.

Leave a Reply

